Parish Council

The parish council is made up of seven seats, and is in the Dickleburgh Ward of South Norfolk Council. There are three councillors from Tivetshall St. Margaret and four councillors from Tivetshall St. Mary.

In the interests of openness and ‘transparency’, all parish councillors are obliged to declare any interests they may have that could affect, or be seen to affect, their independence and objectivity. A register of these interests is maintained by the District Council (South Norfolk) and can be seen on their website

Parish Council Elections
The deadline of 3rd April 2019 is fast approaching for nominations to be submitted for the Parish Council Elections. If you would like to contribute to the running of the Tivetshalls by becoming a parish councillor please contact Ros Hill, Clerk to the Parish Council on [email protected] or pick up a nomination pack from Tivetshall Post Office.
Below are some of the things the Parish Council is responsible for:
• The upkeep of the playing field, play equipment and areas surrounding the village hall
• The upkeep of the Village Green and adjacent pond
• Litter bins and dog bins
• Parish notice boards
• Bus shelter and seating around the village
• Placement of Speed Awareness Machine
• General maintenance of public spaces
• Commenting on Planning Applications

Please look at the information on South Norfolk Council’s website for full details of the election process.

The links below mirror those available directly from the menu above

Agendas for Parish Council Meetings
Minutes of Parish Council Meetings
Policies & Procedures
Meeting documentation